My first track workout!

I’ve been to the track in the past, but it was always to jog at a steady pace while Adam did his interval workouts.  To be honest, intervals scared me.  I had no interest in pushing myself that hard – in upping the intensity.  I’d much rather run longer at my pace than push it for a shorter distance.  Most of that probably comes from my problems with asthma while running (something I’ll write more extensively about later).  I didn’t want to push the limits and find out I’d gone too far.  But then something happened: I got bored.  Running my usual 5k didn’t seem worth it – I didn’t feel the same sense of accomplishment.  So a couple of weeks ago I agreed to join Adam during one of his interval workouts.  We went to the gym to run on the treadmills since there was snow on the ground.  Since he’s so much faster, we decided to just match our times (on vs off).  Here’s what I did:

  • warm up: jog for 8 min at 13 min/mile pace
  • drills (strides, skips, knee lifts, butt kicks, etc)
  • four intervals:  5 min at 10 min/mile pace with 2 min rest (walking)
  • cool down: walk for 5 min

After that workout I felt like I could have pushed harder, but my Achilles was beginning to bother me and I don’t want to mess with it.  Two days later I opted for intervals on the stationary bike instead and I got in a great workout.  Now, I’m a convert.  Intervals are still tricky since I don’t know my limits, but it’s nice to mix things up.

So now to the best part: this morning I completed my first real track workout.  It was a cool 33°, so I bundled up in my running tights, Under Armour, fleece, hat, and gloves.  Adam and I got to the track shortly after 7am (when it opens) and had the place to ourselves (a nice change from the gym).  I felt a little silly doing my warmup with my sweatpants and coat on, but it would have been too cold without them.  So, here’s what I did:

  • warm up:  800m jog
  • six intervals:  600m, then rest for 1:50
  • cool down:  400m barefoot jog

I was so excited, I got off to a fast start – too fast.  Just 200m into the first interval, I felt overwhelmed and considered stopping to catch my breath and try again with a slower pace.  I’m glad I didn’t because I managed to keep up a good pace and finish the first 600m in 2:54 (7:47 min/mile pace).  That certainly wouldn’t have happened if Adam wasn’t running too (he was running 1000m during my 600m runs – I told you he was fast!).  Somehow I managed to complete all six of these intervals with the following splits:track_no_1

  • 2:54  (7:47 min/mile pace)
  • 3:00  (8:03 min/mile pace)
  • 3:01  (8:05 min/mile pace)
  • 3:05  (8:16 min/mile pace)
  • 3:03  (8:11 min/mile pace)
  • 3:02  (8:08 min/mile pace)

My legs are so sore right now, I can’t wait to see how they feel tomorrow morning.  Tomorrow I’ll let them rest, then it’ll be back to the track for more intervals on Thursday!

2 thoughts on “My first track workout!

  1. Pingback: Workout week in review | Run, go fast!

  2. Pingback: Week 15: workouts | Run, go fast!

Comments are closed.