CSA with One Straw Farm

I can’t tell you how excited I am about this season’s CSA with One Straw Farm.  I bought a full share in 2010 and was incredibly happy with the produce, but I just couldn’t manage to make use of enough veggies for four people (I know, I should have realized this ahead of time, but I was being ambitious).  Wasting perfectly good food made me feel terribly guilty, and I decided not to sign up again until now.  Luckily Adam is as excited about this as I am and is up for the challenge.  We’re both really happy to support local (and organic!) farming.  And the craziest part – we are actually encouraged to visit the farm.  Considering how secretive and opaque our food system can be, this is a big deal to me.

Well, since I won’t see any of this food until June, I’m just going to reminisce about the all the wonderful fruits and veggies I enjoyed the last time, including… strawberries, arugula, kale, green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, minzuna, chard, garlic scapes, beets, spinach, romaine, broccoli, zucchini, kohlrabi, white onions, patty pan squash, cabbage, potatoes, garlic, spring onion, sugar snap peas, cauliflower, carrots, corn, cucumbers, red onions, tomatoes, white beets, celery, tomatillos, basil, cantaloupe, cherry tomatoes, eggplant, green beans, thyme, watermelon, japanese eggplant, green peppers, butternut squash, bok choy, and spaghetti squash.  Yum!  I can’t wait!

For those of you lucky enough to afford the lump sum up-front, I highly encourage you to look for local CSAs.  I can’t guarantee they’ll be as awesome as Joan and Drew at One Straw Farm, but it’s worth a look.