Week 11: workouts

I’m happy to report that I had another great workout week!  It was much the same as last week, so I won’t go into too many of the details.

Monday

I started off the morning with a 15 minute warm up on the stationary bike at the gym – nothing too hard, just enough to get my heart rate up.  After the usual lifting workout (biceps, chest, shoulders, back, and triceps) I did 1/4 of Adam’s abdominal workout.

Tuesday

The plan was to do intervals with Adam, possibly at the track.  Unfortunately I had terrible stomach pains when I woke up and I felt very nauseated.  I still wanted to go the the gym and get a workout in – perhaps a bike workout which is low-impact – but Adam convinced me to stay home.  In the end I’m glad I did.  It was cool and rainy in the morning, but by the afternoon it was sunny and in the sixties.  I was feeling better by 5pm, so I went for a jog around a nearby park.  The total distance was 3.6 miles with some (what I consider) big hills.  I believe my pace was around 9:45 min/mile which I was happy about.  It was also my first outdoor run with my new ‘minimalist’ shoes (from Skora, which I’ll write more about later).

Wednesday

Back to the gym for another lifting workout and abs, of course.

Thursday

This time I was feeling good and made it to the gym for intervals with Adam.  It was still too cold for the outdoor track so we were back on the treadmills.  The gym has been busy lately and this time there were no available treadmills for the warm up, so we used the small 1/10 mile indoor track.  It was fine for me, but Adam was having trouble keeping his speed up with all the turns.  After the 8 minute warm up jog, we did drills.  By this time the treadmills had cleared out for out intervals, 5:20 fast and 2:20 slow (3.5 mph walking):

  • 6.8 mph  (8:50 min/mile)
  • 7.0 mph  (8:35 min/mile)
  • 7.2 mph  (8:20 min/mile)
  • 7.4 mph  (8:06 min/mile)

These are the same times I ran a couple weeks ago, but they still felt like the right pace for me.  I believe the total mileage for the intervals was close to 5k and only slightly slower than my slow/easy 5k runs, which goes to show – slow and steady is much easier than a fast/slow mixture over the same distance.

Friday

On Friday I started out my workout with the lifting and abs workouts, but I wanted more so I ended the workout with a 25 minute bike.  It was only going to be a 15 minute bike, but I was in the middle of reading an article and didn’t want to stop reading to get off the bike, clean it, etc.

Saturday

My workout last Saturday was a “breakthrough workout” – I went further and faster than I knew I could – so I was uncertain how to approach the workout this past Saturday.  Could I repeat what I did last week?  Did I need to?  I decided to do 35 minutes on the bike then run for at least 3.1 miles (5k).  If I felt like running more then I would, but if that was all I could handle then I wouldn’t be upset.

Well, unlike last week I had a decent 35 minute bike workout.  So, I probably wasn’t going to be able to do 5 miles again…  Well, guess what?  I did.  I ran 5 miles in 46 minutes.  Woo!  It definitely wasn’t easy, but it was do-able.  If I keep this up who knows what I’ll be able to do six months from now!

