Week 14: workouts

I feel like I’m reaching the point where working out consistently throughout the week is becoming normal.  It’s less exciting to be doing the same thing I’ve been doing over the past few weeks, but it’s fun to feel my fitness improving.

This week was a recovery week, so I took it easy on the running.  I stuck to the usual schedule, but dialed back the intensity.  The strength workouts aren’t as taxing, so I kept the usual intensity there – same Monday-Wednesday-Friday workouts as last week.

Tuesday – 5k on the treadmill – total time 33:15

Thursday – 5k on the treadmill – total time 30:00

On Thursday I started at 5.5 mph and increased by 0.1 mph every two minutes.  It wasn’t exactly a recovery workout, but I was feeling good and it wasn’t more that my usual 5ks.

Saturday was spring cleaning day so I didn’t get the usual workout in, but I did a lot of walking around, moving things, and lots and lots of scrubbing.

Sunday – 8 miles around the harbor – total time 1:20:00.

Adam and I went down to Boston Street Running for my long run on Sunday.  The weather was cool and windy, but I’ve found that I like it cool.  Running around the harbor again was great – not only is it flat, but there’s a lot to see.  Eight miles is the farthest I’ve ever run intentionally (two weeks ago was longer, but also a surprise) so it was a little harder mentally, but not too bad.  I had a couple run-ins with asthma but I just needed to slow down a bit and calm down.  Sometimes my head just gets in the way of my legs.

Well, that’s it for my workouts this week.  I spent Sunday hanging out at Boston Street Running (BSR) and had the pleasure of meeting some really great people.  Minimalist running seems to be something that a lot of people are interested in trying, and it’s exciting to be a part of that.  Until next week ~ run real, run free.

