Week 16: workouts

There are no big updates for this week except that I set a new PR for my 8 mile long run.  Monday and Wednesday were the usual: 20 minutes on the recumbent bike, stretching, lifting, and abs.  On Friday I was beat and decided to only do the ab workout that morning.

On Tuesday I ran 5k around campus at a relatively easy pace: 31:30 total time.  Now that the weather has warmed a bit, I’m beginning to run outdoors more often – and that can take a little more mental energy some days.  On Thursday I went to the track with Adam so he could “remind his legs how to go fast”.  I decided to test out my 5k pace so I ran one mile in 8:40 which would put me around 27:00 overall.  On a flat course with little wind, I think it’s possible.  We’ll see – I have my first race next month!

On Saturday Adam had his second race of the season – the Sole of the City 10k in downtown Baltimore.  You can read his race report on his blog (here).  I ran around to take pictures of him at the 4, 5, and 6 mile markers.  The rest of the day was packed full of events so I didn’t have time for any more workouts even if I had wanted to do something.

long-runOn Sunday I ran another 8 miles around Baltimore’s harbor.  Adam and I started at the red icon and ran west for 4k before turning around to run back to the store, then finished with the 5k route for the race I plan to run next month.  The east side of the harbor is less than scenic, but it was flat so I didn’t complain too much.  I was pushing it for the last kilometer (8:26 min/mile pace) and my time for the last 5k was 29:06.  If I can run that fast after 5 miles, I should be able to handle 27:00 fresh (assuming nothing goes wrong during the race – like an asthma attack).  The total time for the 8 miles was 1:17:50 which is a new PR by two minutes.  Man, I had to work hard for those two minutes!

Next week will be a hard week, but I have a visitor in town for work so I’ll need to rearrange my schedule a bit.  It’ll be a challenge, but I’ll make it work somehow.  Wish me luck!

