Week 17: workouts

First of all, let me say this: I know this week-in-review workout format doesn’t make for the most thrilling blog reading, but it’s helping me stay consistent with my workouts and get stronger in the process.  My run this morning is a case in point: I had a strong eight mile run without wearing myself out.  I was able to enjoy the gorgeous weather and the company in a way that would not have been possible a few months ago.  I know this may sound crazy to those of you who have known me for a while, but I actually had fun on my long run this morning.

Strength training

Monday was my only spinning-lifting workout of the week.  My schedule shifted a bit for work this week, and the lifting workouts were my lowest priority.  I’m glad I got one lifting session in, but looking back on it I should have done more.  Maybe I’ll devise a quick at-home replacement workout for future busy mornings.

Running

Running has been my top priority lately, so I made sure to finish the usual workouts for the week.  On Wednesday I did a 5k run on my own in the morning.  I wanted to take it easy, but as soon as I was on the road my legs set the pace for me.  I have a natural cadence that I like to maintain, so slowing down is a matter of stride length.  The short stride just didn’t feel right that morning, so I ended up pushing through a rather hard 28:35 minute 5k.  I was happy with it, but it definitely wasn’t easy.  I think it was also my fastest 5k on the roads (rather than a treadmill).

The next day, Adam and I were at the track for another interval workout.  My plan was 4x1000m then 4x200m.  We began with a warm up and drills to get the blood flowing.  My legs were sore from the day before, so I resigned myself to a slow workout.  Well, here’s how it went for the 1000m (with 90 seconds rest):

  • 4:58  (7:59 min/mile pace)
  • 5:02  (8:06 min/mile pace)
  • 4:59  (8:01 min/mile pace)
  • 5:01  (8:04 min/mile pace)

I went even faster than last time!  While I was running I felt slow, but apparently I was really moving!  I’m also really happy with the consistency I was able to maintain.  My 200m intervals were a bit slower than last time, but I’m okay with that:

  • 0:48  (6:26 min/mile pace)
  • 0:46  (6:10 min/mile pace)
  • 0:48  (6:26 min/mile pace)
  • 0:46  (6:10 min/mile pace)

My heart rate and pace (vs time) are shown below.  (Click to enlarge)

thurs-run

Sunday’s workout was a gorgeous long run around the harbor.  It was another eight miles, but it felt easy compared to last week.  My total time was 1:18:17 with a couple interruptions – about two minutes worth of rest after the first 5k.  Overall, it was a great run on a beautiful morning and, as always, it was great to have Adam there with me.

